New York Cemetery Records

Search all of and NYGenWeb in one place.

Custom Search

Dutchess County, New York Cemeteries

Dutchess County is located in New York, in the state's Mid-Hudson Region of the Hudson Valley. The county seat is Poughkeepsie.

What is today Dutchess County was a leading center for the native Wappinger peoples. They had their council-fire at what is now present-day Fishkill Hook and also held gatherings along the Danskammer.

In 1683, the Province of New York established its first twelve counties, with Dutchess County being one of them. Its boundaries at that time included the present Putnam County, and a small portion of the present Columbia County (the towns of Clermont and Germantown).

The county was named for Mary of Modena, Duchess of York, second wife of James, Duke of York (later James II, King of England). Until 1713, Dutchess was administered by Ulster County. In 1812, Putnam County was detached from Dutchess.

View Cemetery Transcriptions

Select a Dutchess County, New York Cemetery to view records...

Notification List

Receive a monthly e-mail notification of new cemeteries added to this search. Thousands of new records are being added each month. You can easily unsubscribe by clicking a link in the e-mail.

* indicates required